Leave a comment

Dragon Update

Loot!!!

Loot!!!

We’ve made progress!!!!

A lady in one of  my (eight billion) glider groups advised me to give the Dragons a few minutes of attention/treats every hour that I’m awake, taking the pouch out of the cage and talking softly to them while offering treats. I can’t say I’ve done it every hour, but I’ve done it as often as I can, and the PIP has been “helping” as well: all seven of them have trained him to offer treats whenever he walks into a room. Hilarious.

So last night I took the Dragons into the tent–after playing with Maverick–and had them taking treats from my hands, and I was permitted to pet each one of them for a second or two. How awesome is that?! So progress is slow, but it is there. I really wonder about the history of these gliders that we all imported in from out of state. Of the eight that arrived on the plane that night, my friend and I still have our six, between the two of us, and we’re both making very slow progress with them. The remaining two, I understand, were rehomed a short time after they arrived. They were apparently pretty vicious, attacking the cage bars every time one of the owner’s children walked by. They were being housed in the children’s bedroom, and the kids were terrified to go into their room. We haven’t heard anything about them since they were rehomed, so I hope their newest owner is making progress too.

The Dragons were never that mean. Yes, they are very, very nippy. And, sweet gods, did they ever smell!!! That was the first thing that progressed with them. Over time, the smell has become almost nonexistent, and that’s saying something for a room that is home to seven gliders and a rabbit! The odor is a bit stronger when it’s close to cage-cleaning time, but even then, it’s faint. When the Dragons first arrived, it was horrendous, and it wasn’t just due to being in such tiny enclosures for so long. That was to be expected. But it went on for weeks. You couldn’t open the door without becoming immediately aware that there were animals in the room, and I can be very nose-blind, seeing that the room in which they reside is also where I sleep! Now, it’s nowhere near as bad as it was. We’re headed in the right direction, I think.

In the arts department, we apparently had a secret Santa that we just received something from yesterday. No idea who, obviously, but the unexpected largesse was greatly appreciated by all!! Bryony and I hit JoAnn’s today, and we got loot!! Bryony decided on a huge box of foam alphabet stickers, which made me groan, envisioning everything that could be desecrated by them. I told her I better not see them on my walls, furniture, or floors. She assured me I wouldn’t, which tells me that they’ll be everywhere within two days. I, of course, hit the yarn department right off the bat. I needed mercerized cotton yarn. I also needed findings for the kumihimo and micro-macrame things I’d already made, some beads, several types of adhesive, and some aluminum (i.e., cheap) jump rings. So I’m all set!!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

