Leave a comment

The Explosion

An abundance of shuttles

An abundance of shuttles

I have a herd of shuttles now. Or is that a flock? A pack? A pod? I’m not sure of the proper terminology for a ton of tatting shuttles. But there are an awful lot of them, and yes, I did add another abalone shell, and another horn to even out the numbers. I still need another metal Celtic to even out that number there. Maybe next month. Maybe. There are a lot of things needing to be paid next month, so my allowance may have to go by the wayside for now. It’s going to hurt, too, because I kind of feel like I deserve to treat myself to a new shuttle. The broken tooth that has been a back and forth issue for months finally turned itself into an emergency by becoming so infected that my entire face swelled up, resulting in a run to the dentist to get a prescription for antibiotics, followed the next day by a run to the ER to have antibiotics given IV, since my body chose to laugh at the oral meds and continue swelling up. After that, yesterday, the tooth was finally removed even though the infection was still present, and today my face is still swollen, though I don’t look quite as much like Frankenstein’s bride as I did before. However, the extraction was followed by lots of rocking and crying once I got home while waiting for the painkillers to kick in. Holy cow, if you can avoid it, never have an extraction done if the tooth is infected. I have never felt anything like it before.

20160727_173345

Simple barefoot sandals

In short, I feel like I deserve a new, pretty shuttle because I didn’t kick the dentist or the assistant, I mostly took it like a grown woman, and I resisted acting like a three year old until I got home. Those are justifiable reasons, right?

I’ve also made a couple pairs of very simple barefoot sandals recently. And I learned some things while doing them. One, the loop through which you put your toe needs to be fairly small, just large enough to fit your toe through it. Any larger, and the sandals will slide right off at some point, flopping around your ankles. Two, you need to secure the sandals at any joint. If your sandals go up your calf from your toe, you have to secure them flat at the ankle and secure them again at the top of your calf. Otherwise they will fall off. Three, even as simple as they are, they were fun to make. Absolutely useless, really, in the grand scheme of things, but fun nonetheless.

Now, I’d like to try my hand at a more complex pattern. I think it’s time. It’s just a matter of finding one that really tugs at me. I’ve gotta graduate sometime, and now’s as good a time as any. A friend of mine has asked me to submit some tatting for next year’s county fair, as they haven’t had any tatting submissions in some time, and that means that I need to push my own limits in order to have something worth submitting. So, off I go on the hunt!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

