2 Comments

I Did It!!!

Completed bookmark, at last!

Completed bookmark, at last!

It’s not exactly what I planned on, but I did finally finish the bookmark! There were some changes made. One change was that I needle tatted it rather than shuttle, which means I managed to make the entire bookmark in under an hour, and that’s awesome. The second change was that the bookmark is 3/5 the size of the pattern. I did nine rings per side rather than fifteen. But I completed it with no mistakes, everything attached where it’s supposed to be, and since it’s pink, I gave it to Aneira, who, of course, is enamored of anything pink, and is thus thrilled.

Okay, so technically I cheated, I know, but I made many, many attempts at following the plan before I did, so I’m okay with cheating. Besides, I’ve already started another one on shuttle.

I’ve also finally figured out a work-around on the Lizbeth thread that has been driving me mad: two shuttles. The second shuttle takes the place of the ball, and when the thread starts to coil too much, I can let the shuttles hang and spin until the twist comes out. It’s been a partial, qualified success so far. It would have worked perfectly if not for one thing: I used the cheap shuttles I bought from the Wish application on my phone. Why is this a problem? Well, the shuttles came as a set of two plastic Clover-like shuttles, but none of the tips are closed, and they unravel. I didn’t notice when I was winding them because I was hanging out with my family and we were talking and watching tv at the same time, so I wasn’t really paying attention to the shuttles in my hands, other than to notice when they were full. And when I started working with them, one was in my lap and the other in my hand, so I finally noticed the problem once I needed to let the twist out. I picked up the shuttles to let them dangle, and both of them unraveled. By that point, I was a good way into the project. Naturally, I was annoyed with both myself and the shuttles. Lesson learned: don’t buy cheap from China, and if you do, check the stupid things before using them. I’m just glad I didn’t spend a lot of money on them, and the PIP says that once I’ve gotten the thread off them, he can use heat to close the tips, so it may not be a total loss.

I brought my iPod in from my truck to use while blogging and tatting–or whatever fiber art I’m doing–because a friend of mine introduced me to a new song yesterday that I fell in love with. It’s called “The Hanging Tree” from the Mockingjay movie, which I’ve never seen. But I love this song, and found several different versions of it that I downloaded yesterday. There’s a techno version, an orchestral version, and a very Celtic sounding version. I added all three to a playlist and sang my way through this post lol. It’s quite an eclectic playlist; I’ll listen to nearly any kind of music, with few exceptions. I think I’m going to start listening to Pandora again, so that I can find new music, or rediscover old music. My iPod is mostly filled with 80s music, as I’m an 80s kid…I needed my MTV!! Should I include my playlists with my posts from now on? Let me know!

2 comments on “I Did It!!!

  1. great job that is my favorite bookmark to do

    Like

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

