Leave a comment

Thready or Not

I finally did a sample piece on each of the new threads, the Lizbeth and the Valdani, needle tatting for both samples. The Lizbeth is driving me insane. It’s like tatting with elastic. It coils around itself very tightly and very quickly. You can pull the coils straight, but the second you let go in order to pull your thread through your work, it springs back into the coil and knots up at the entrance of the work. Not cool!!!

And it’s really frustrating because the colors are so vibrant. I was really looking forward to using the Lizbeth thread. It might work out okay with shuttle tatting (maybe), but I had trouble with the coiling there too.

The Valdani was fantastic, on the other hand! The one complaint I have about the Valdani is that what I ordered was #10 thread, the invoice says what I received is #10 thread, but the thread is significantly finer than the Aunt Lydia and Lizbeth. It’s more like a #12 or 13. That’s a very minor complaint, though: I can live with the thread size I have, and I can use it. I haven’t used it on a shuttle yet, because all of my shuttles currently have thread on them, and I don’t want to waste it.

Speaking of which, I really hope I can work out my issues with the Lizbeth. I really love the color line, and it’s going to depress me if I can never get through one solid piece with it!!

Edited to add correction: I ordered the wrong Valdani thread. I guessed right on the size (12), and when I checked it just now, I didn’t read the site well enough, so the mistake was mine!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

