Leave a comment

Second Time’s a Charm

20160310_220814

Finally got it right!

That’s not actually how it happened, just “second” sounded better as a title than “seventh”, which is a lot closer to the mark!

I did not go down in needle size. One look at the eyes of the other needles convinced me that, yes, I had been using the right one in the first place. The other needles are very clearly meant for something not much thicker than sewing thread, and I’m a long way away from trying my hand at something that thin. I’m lucky to be able to work with #10 thread!!

So, what I have learned: needle tatting is looser than shuttle, and I can only guess it’s because you’re forming the stitches on the needle, which is actually a larger gauge than your thread. With the shuttle, you’re forming stitches on the thread itself, which makes them tighter by default.

With the needle, if you manage not to tangle your thread, it will tighten up as you pull the thread through the stitches. Yes, I managed to royally tangle the thread several times. It was not pretty, and several attempts were just cut off the spool early on. And knowing ahead of time that this was likely to be the case, I opted to use the least expensive thread, so I wouldn’t kick myself quite as hard. First I kept messing up the stitches, then I kept forgetting to attach the circles at the picots!

I actually like tatting both ways. I guess the direction I take per project is going to be determined by what I feel like doing each time. Once you get the hang of it, neither way is particularly difficult. That being said, I’ve only been doing circles and chains so far. I have no idea how difficult it may become when I try something more complex than a butterfly!!

I’m contemplating an attempt at making a bookmark, but there’s a part of me laughing uproariously at the idea. So many people have given up books in favor of Kindles or Nooks or other e-readers. That’s not a bad thing–the fewer books made, the more trees saved. But it does make the bookmark kind of obsolete. On the other hand, with very few exceptions, my craft books are still actual books, so I suppose a bookmark isn’t that bad an idea after all!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

