Leave a comment

Learning Curve

You know what tatting patterns remind me of? Those puzzles where you have to trace every line without picking up the pencil or retracing your steps. I know that’s not strictly true, as you can add thread where you need to, but the butterfly, for instance, is one long piece of thread curved into the design you want. Kind of cool, actually.

I don’t know why, but my double stitches consistently twist themselves upside down. I generally realize it when I’m making a picot and slide it into place, and, lo and behold, it’s either completely upside down, or partially twisted because the previous stitch is upside down and the current stitch is right side up. It’s easy enough to fix, but still a little frustrating when you don’t know why it’s happening. There’s definitely a learning curve here.

One of the books I bought, Learn to Tat by Janette Baker, came with a DVD. Actually, the book appears to be a literal script of the DVD, like a child’s read-along book. I started watching it last night, and learned that, at least according to the author, I had my shuttle loaded incorrectly. If you’re looking down at the shuttle, the thread should exit on the lower right. Mine exited on the upper left, which actually made more sense to me as the work was in my left hand. None of the other videos I’ve seen mention this, so I don’t know if it’s something specific to this author or not, but I reloaded the shuttle anyway. There are  nine classes included in the book and DVD, and then a section on patterns and projects. I’m going to work through the book slowly, with lots of repetition!!

I made a second little purple butterfly last night, and it only took me about twenty minutes this time, compared to the hour for the first one. Not bad, but I spent a good portion of that time untwisting my stitches. Grrr. I’ll figure it out eventually, I hope.

I think tonight, I’m going to take a break from tatting and go back to Bryony’s scarf for a little while, add a few more rows to it. Naturally, I would be knitting a scarf when winter is just about over, even here in Colorado. The temperature has been in the 50s and 60s lately, and more often than not, while I carry my jacket just in case, I’m not wearing it. It definitely hasn’t been scarf weather.

On the home front, things have been pretty good between the PIP and I. We haven’t had any arguments in quite awhile (I hope I’m not jinxing myself by writing this). He came to the conclusion, on his own, that if I met someone he wouldn’t stand in my way, which was nice. Unfortunately, I’ve seen what’s available to me on dating websites and I’m not terribly impressed. In point of fact, there were only a couple of guys I was interested in, and they were either not interested in return, or turned out to be trying to run a scam on me. I’ve since given up on dating sites. Sometimes, the devil you know actually is the better option!!

Besides, I never go out anyway!!! Who has time? Between family, school, homework, and studying, there’s only a little time left before going to bed that I’d rather spend playing with yarn, blogging, and watching TV! And this is not New York, where there is something to do 24/7. Things close around here, and I’m not a bar-hopper. So, for the next hour or so, I’m going to drag out my “Lost” DVDs, daydream about Sawyer, and do a little knitting! Have a lovely night, folks!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

