5 Comments

I’m At It Again!

20160301_142045

My first two tatted rings.

Up until now, if I found a new fiber interest, I’ve been able to blame Ravelry for it. Not this time. This time, it’s Pinterest’s fault.

This time, it’s tatting. I never, in a million years, would have thought to see myself even grudgingly trying this one out, never mind actually having an interest in it. Tatting has always meant doilies, and I have no interest in them. In all honesty, I loathe them. I hated seeing them in my grandparents’ place, along with the plastic-covered furniture. They made me shudder. If becoming elderly automatically meant a sudden interest in doilies, then I wanted to be taken out before that happened. I don’t care how intricate they are, how interesting they might be, they are doilies, and having them decorate every iota of furniture in a house is cringeworthy.

I haven’t changed my mind in that respect. I still loathe doilies, in all forms. However, something popped up on my Pinterest feed the other day that made me willing to try tatting out: this. Something I considered useful and pretty.

Okay, “useful” may be stretching it a bit, but I can see that if you created soles for them, these actually could be useful footwear!

So, off I went to find information on tatting. I bought a book, and I bought a shuttle winder, and I bought a shuttle–the wrong kind for the winder, as luck would have it, and I have yet to figure out how to use the shuttle I bought. Fortunately, everything I bought was dirt cheap. The most expensive item was the book!

While basic shuttles are extremely inexpensive pieces of plastic, costing at most $5, which seems to actually be pretty high for a shuttle, I’ve already come across more than a few really cute ones that will enable my tool addiction, made from various types of wood, and even a gorgeous one in sterling silver. And even then, not that expensive!

And I’ve already learned a couple of things about tatting.

  1. Don’t assume all the shuttles are the same and buy one online without seeing it first.
  2. Tatting can actually be done by hand, without a shuttle, with just a ball of yarn. It ain’t pretty, but it can be done.
  3. There may not be much to buy to get started tatting, but shuttles are very collectable!
  4. You can practice tatting on some ol’ acrylic yarn before snarling up some good crochet thread.

Number four may apply only to me–your mileage may vary, but I’ve learned in the past that I am very capable of snarling up crochet thread. And while I am good at picking out knots, some are just not salvageable.

I’ve gotten the hang of the dreaded double stitch, enough to make a couple of rings, but I clearly have a long way to go before I actually manage to make something with tatting. I’ve been using YouTube tutorials and this website, which is pretty awesome in and of itself.

So  I guess we’ll see how this one plays out!!

5 comments on “I’m At It Again!

  1. georgia seitz.com she has free online tatting classes they are neat also very helpful to me is frivolite on youtube as she is great to show you different tech this is actually how i have been learning

    Like

  2. Georgia’s classes are great! Come, join us on the dark side… 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

