Leave a comment

Pretty as a Pinterest Picture

As I’ve said before, Pinterest is a dangerous website. There’s very little that can’t be found there, and when it comes to crafts, I’ve got patterns pinned from every craft I’ve taken an interest in, from tutorials on new stitches or weaves to patterns for actual items.

There was a particular scarf that popped up under the keyword “crochet” that I really liked

20160226_094103

Deborah Norville Collection Serenity Garden Yarn Hibiscus

(and I hope I linked the scarf and not the entire website), and I have to say that as much as I like variegated yarns, I’m not a huge fan of those that contain every color under the sun. My favorites tend to be the ones that segue naturally from color to color, such as dark purples fade into progressively lighter shades until they get to white, or purple fades to red via burgundy, and so on. This scarf contains an entire rainbow of colors.

This is not to say that I don’t own rainbow variegated yarns, because I do. I can’t help myself. But those yarns aren’t generally bought for me. They’re bought to make things for my kids, who love bright primary colors; the more, the merrier. Not my style. But I fell for this scarf.

As it turned out, it was misfiled. It’s not a crocheted scarf, it’s knitted. Well, I’m not a

20160226_085935

Loops & Threads Soft & Shiny Party

great knitter. I’m still essentially a novice, but Jo Haward’s pattern is so very simple, although it looks complicated, at least to me. There was nothing for it but to drag out my knitting needles and try it.

So presently there are two scarves going on two different sets of needles. One is being done in the Deborah Norville Collection Serenity Garden Yarn in Hibiscus, which is a variegated red and made of Dralon Microfiber, so says the label.

The other is being made in Loops & Threads Soft & Shiny in Party, an acrylic variegated rainbow.

I’m not sure which one I like best. Seriously. The Hibiscus seems like it will have more drape than the Party, which is all to the good, but the Party won’t be any slouch either.

Yeah, I know…I needed more WIPs like I need another hole in my head, but it was irresistible!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

