Leave a comment

New Hook!!!

20160205_144649

Furl’s Crochet Candy Shop 5.5mm hook “Blackberry”

You may possibly recall my mentioning my tool addiction at least once. You may also recall my desire for a Furl’s hook being mentioned.

Well, I gave in and ordered one yesterday, and it arrived today, thoughtfully packaged with a ball of yarn. And, of course, having read the testimonials and watched the videos, I had to try it out right away.

First of all, it’s an eyecatching eggplant purple, called Blackberry, which is my favorite color. It comes packaged in a pretty little black and white box. It’s the 5.5 mm size. Normally, my go-to hook is a 5.0 mm, but that one is pink, and I am shamed to say that color determined which hook I’d get first (The pink one, called Strawberry, will be joining the family probably tomorrow).

These two are from their Candy Shop line of hooks. I’m not gonna lie, these are some pricey hooks. Candy Shop is their mid-range line, with each hook costing $45, and that was on sale from their normal $50 price tag. That’s for one hook. The least expensive line, Odyssey, runs $30. Their Heirloom wood hooks are $75 per hook. Pricey, as I said. The caddy for the Candy Shop hooks, which is absolutely adorable, comes in at a cool $200. I haven’t ascertained whether that includes hooks or not, but I’m inclined toward not. The hooks are made from Polyresin and covered with auto-quality clearcoat.

But is the hook worth it? I’d have to say, after trying it out, yes. A resounding yes. The handle fits sweetly in my hand, no matter how I hold the hook, and my hand doesn’t get as tired. The yarn slides over it beautifully, not catching at all.

I have tons of hooks. I have bamboo hooks and aluminum hooks and steel hooks and acrylic hooks. Some have ergonomic handles and some don’t. None of them feel like the Furl’s hook.

This is not to say that my other hooks are no good, simply that if I’m going to be crocheting all day, most likely the Furl’s is going to be the one I pick up. However, due to the cost of it, if I’m going out of the house to crochet elsewhere, the Furl’s hook will not be coming out with me. I don’t want to risk losing it; I’m not made of money, and I don’t want to spend money twice for the same thing if I can prevent it.

All this being said, I’ll just add this: I will more than likely eventually buy all of the Candy Shop hooks, one at a time, and if you can afford Furl’s hooks, I’d  say definitely buy them. Even if you really can’t afford them, I’d say to, at the very least, buy the size hook you use most often. They are definitely worth it.

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

