Leave a comment

A Very Dangerous Site: Pinterest!

I’ve known about Pinterest for quite some time. I’ve been a member since its early days. I’ve dabbled in it here and there. But never have I actually used it to its full potential…until now.

Sweet baby cheeses, this site is the New York City of search engines, and coming from me, that is the highest honor I could give it! Like New York, if you can’t find it here, it ain’t worth finding! I have deliberately sought some obscure (to my mind, at least) things on Pinterest, and have found them, usually several versions of whatever I was looking for. Nirvana!!!!

This wouldn’t have happened without the hip surgery. I know it seems odd to say that, but it really wouldn’t have. I am awakened every night around three or four am by pain. It’s not excruciating anymore, but it’s that deep, unremitting ache that isn’t relieved by a simple change in position. This is when I allow myself one Percocet, with the hope that it will relieve the pain and send me back to sleep. It works on the pain, but inevitably,  I am not going to view the insides of my eyelids again for hours. What to do, what to do?

Well, my crafty pursuits aren’t an option here. I can’t turn on a light without waking up one of my “nurses”, and sitting up on a couch in the living room is still a touch uncomfortable for more than a few minutes at a stretch. But my iPad is available, charged, and on silent! Huzzah!

My newest addiction started simply, with an email telling me that someone had saved one of my pins from several months ago. Meh. Mildly interesting. I’ve got nothing better to do at four am, so might as well go look at the pin.

That was it. As I backed out of the pin, a new page came up. This page included the pins of friends, and pins selected for me based upon my pinning history. Well, it’s still four am, I’m still awake, and I still have nothing better to do. And I was off.

I have now spent hours on Pinterest. Gleeful, happy hours pinning crochet and amigurumi patterns, knitting patterns, weaving patterns, recipes from around the world, pictures of fiber arts tools that intrigue me, and the list goes on.

How did I miss this?! How did I not get here sooner? Even my brother had stated his addiction to Pinterest some months ago…I laughed and continued blithely on my way,

No longer. Pinterest has become as much a part of my life as Facebook and crafting. I may not ever get around to half the things I’ve pinned, but at least I know where they are so when I do want them, I can find them!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

