7 Comments

My First Amigurumi

My amigurumi ball! I'm so proud of it.

My amigurumi ball! I’m so proud of it.

I gotta say, this was fun. I followed a pair of YouTube tutorials to learn the basics of amigurumi, which means I learned to make an amigurumi ball. It’s not much, I know, but the heads of the dolls are made by making a ball, so I did the first part! The hubby has already used it as a hackysack, and Bryony claimed it permanently afterward, so I’ve already started a new ball – in a different color, of course – for Aneira. Or peace will no longer reign across the land. Then maybe I’ll be able to actually start one that will end up as a doll.

It really was fun though. It took me a bunch of tries to get the Magic Ring portion of the ball right, but that was okay. Once I got that, it was just a matter of following the tutorial to finish the rest. I’d never crocheted in the round before, so that made it even more interesting. Also, one thing that wasn’t mentioned in the tutorial was the fact that as you go along, you are crocheting through both bars of the stitch. I think that’s a key item to mention; when I was taught to crochet, you inserted your hook into only the back bar. I discovered this when I got several rows done and realized that my ball wasn’t shaping up to look like the one on the tutorial, nor any other amigurumi I’d seen, at which point I started watching more closely and saw that the woman in the tutorial was going through both bars. So I frogged it back once more and started again, and this time got it right.

Increasing and decreasing were things I’d never done before either. Since all I’d ever made were blankets, there was no need for them, and no need to learn them. The tutorial shows you how to do a regular decrease, which involves single crocheting two stitches together, but then the decrease is too obvious, so then it shows you an amigurumi decrease, which is different and invisible. For that, you go through the front bar of the stitch from below, then go into the front bar of the stitch next to it, also from below, then yarn over, pull through two loops, yarn over again, and pull through the last two. Pretty cool.

I haven’t yet figured out what I’m going to do about eyes. Both the blog I’m following, All About Ami, and the tutorial mentioned things to use. The blog talked about safety eyes, and the tutorial mentioned buttons. With small children, safety eyes are an option, but buttons never are. However, I have four big dogs. In particular, I have one really big dog, with a really strong jaw and teeth. I’m thinking safety eyes won’t be safe enough. He’s just barely out of puppyhood, and still prone to chewing things that he shouldn’t, and a safety eye could choke him or cause an obstruction. So my thoughts on that are either embroidering eyes, or using felt to make eyes and then glue the eyes on. But I haven’t gotten quite that far yet, so I’ve got time to think about it.

I have a feeling there are going to be more than a few amigurumi figures that will wind up hanging out in my studio. I’ve already got a pattern for Stitch, and I’m looking for one for Toothless, from How to Train Your Dragon. I’ll have to make three of him, because each of the girls will want one, and I know do! Has anyone seen a good one for him? If you come across one, please share it in the comments?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

7 comments on “My First Amigurumi

  1. I haven’t seen any for toothless, but reading your post made me remember my first doll… she got eaten by my dog… I’d go with felt… and there is a way to use beads in the yarn for eyes too… I use the glow in the dark ones for my Halloween dolls.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve made Toothless before using the pattern from Sarselgurumi. This blog here has good pics that compliments that pattern: https://rachchua.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/step-by-step-tutorial-toothless-from-how-to-train-your-dragon/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

