Leave a comment

Knit stuff

Apple's Knit Counter

Apple’s Knit Counter

I’ve picked up another skill necessary to needle knitting this week: UNknitting!!! For someone like me, this is absolutely a necessity. One of the pros of loom knitting is the fact that it is very difficult to lose or add a stitch without knowing it immediately. With needle knitting, I consistently do both, with no idea how it happens, and then I have to unknit everything all the way back to where I made the mistake. It’s a royal nuisance if you are a beginner and have made the further mistake of using a dark color to knit with. It is, however, much better than starting over from cast-on, which I have also done numerous times.

Another tip: count your stitches at least every other row. Me, I count them at least that often. See above.

This was a good weekend. I got the early release of Thor: Dark World on iTunes and watched that with the family while trying very hard not to look as though I was lusting after Thor, and the cable knitting is still keeping me occupied which, given how many times I have started over, is nothing less than miraculous.

This brings me to what I really wanted to do today, which is an app review. It’s for a knit counter app, named, appropriately, Knit Counter, which I found in the Apple app store. I don’t know if it’s on Android as well, though I’m certain there will be similar apps there. The app is made by Cordless Dog.

I know a knit counter doesn’t sound very impressive, and ordinarily I’d agree, but this one allows me to put a number of counters on each project. As you can see from the first picture, I’ve named the project and got four counters on this project. I’ve got a total of 44 rows altogether, 40 of which are cable rows, and 4 of which are the foundation rows. Next cable row is where I’ll be using the cable needle again, which in this case is every four rows I switch again.  When I’m done with row 41, then I will add four to the “Next cable row” counter, so that I know when I reach 44 on the “cables” counter, the next row I will need the needle again.

In the second picture, I’ve shown a project I have on the sock loom. I’ve named the project “Autumn colors sock loom socks” so I know exactly which project it is, and this one has six

Sock project on the Knit Counter app

Sock project on the Knit Counter app

counters on it. “Row” is total number of rows, “Cuff” tells me how many ribbed rows I’ve done, “Leg” for how many rows of the leg I’ve done so far. “Heel”, “Foot”, and “Toe” are empty because I haven’t gotten to those sections of the sock yet. But when it’s done, I have a template for the second sock.  And as you can see, for this project, I actually included a picture of the work in progress.

At the bottom of the picture, you can see three buttons: Counters, Info, and Frog. By clicking on info, the app takes you to four other headings that can be edited however you like. Pattern info has sub-sections for designer, name, size, source, and URL. Yarn info has eleven sub-sections: amount, brand, fibre, dye lot, name, shade, source, weight, skeins, wpi, and gauge. Needle info allows you to input the material, size, and type of needle, and Notes allows you to type in anything else you might want to remember about the project that isn’t included in other areas. The third button, Frog, allows you to go backwards on a counter if you need to rip out rows.

According to the information on Cordless Dog’s webpage, counters can even be linked together, and there are alerts available. I haven’t yet found those features or figured out how to use them, but it’s good to know they’re available! The app isn’t all that expensive either; unfortunately I can’t remember exactly what I paid for it as it no longer shows in my app store, but I can assure you that it was no more than $3, and possibly less. Honestly, I don’t think you can go wrong purchasing this app. I had a few other knit counters, but deleted them after working with this one. There is a Knit Counter Lite, which is the same app, but although it’s free, it’s limited to one project at a time. If you’re like me and have several projects going on at once, it’s much more convenient to buy the app. Presently, I have seven projects on the app on my iPhone, and two on the app on my iPad.

So, to sum it all up, you can customize all the counters and add as many as you need per project, keep as much or as little information as you need for your various projects, the app is easy to use, and it’s inexpensive. It annoys me that before I found this app, I actually spent $10 for a physical knit counter that only counts total rows and apparently only goes forward, not back!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

