Leave a comment

An Eventful Month

Smoky has come home.

Smoky has come home.

It has been that, both in good ways and horrific ones. Smoky has returned home, in a simple, pretty urn that resides on the window sill in front of my desk, where I can see her at any time, and my husband has done a beautiful job of painting the clay pawprint that the veterinary office made of her paw the day she died. Having her ashes here makes me feel as though she’s still with me in a way. I haven’t gotten used to having only three dogs instead of four. Every night at bedtime, when I call the dogs to bed, I always look for the fourth, though my brain at first always refuses to put a picture or name forward, but some part of me always knows there’s someone missing, and then it’s as though my memory gives up the fight and gives me the name.

Bandit took off on us this past Friday, but she didn’t follow her usual escape route, so we think she was actually looking for her sister. The two of them had never been apart, even sleeping in the same crate long after there was precious little room for them to do so. And this time, she was hit by a car. We don’t have any information as to who hit her. All we know is that a stranger knocked on our door to tell my husband that she had been hit. The same woman was there with two Humane Society officers when hubby went and found her. She was taken to our vet – fortunately, the new vet is almost directly across the street from our house, and Bandit was hit about halfway between our house and the office, so getting her there was quick. I came home from school and picked her up to take her back there, where all her injuries were catalogued and mostly repaired. I say “mostly” because she will have to have more surgery down the line. She is a very, very lucky dog. The most minor injury was that the tip of one of her canines broke off. She also dislocated her right hip, degloved her right thigh, and the tibiatarsal joint, what we would call the ankle, was exposed and thoroughly messed up. She had a small laceration on her head, and the muscle that connects the sternum to the pubis has been detached at the pubis. The surgery to reattach that muscle won’t happen until after the leg heals.

Luckily, her hip slipped back into place while she was being maneuvered for X-rays, and the rest of the leg injuries took up several hours of surgery, but she was stapled up, bandaged, and home the same night. Five days later, and she is hobbling around the house almost as though nothing happened. She will be in a splint for at least six weeks. A very lucky dog. I’ve never been so happy to be a student at this school. What surgery has already been done would have cost upwards of $4,000 had it been done at our vet’s office.

On a less traumatic note, I’ve gotten my grades on all but one of my midterms and thus far have passed them all. Amazingly, I’m sitting at a high B in A & P, which is better than I expected of myself by quite a bit! I’m dreading the one grade I don’t yet have: medical terminology. Normally, when it comes to words and languages, I’m pretty good at them, but med term is a lot harder than learning Spanish. In fact, the one language I ever took that I failed at almost immediately was Greek, and many of the words in medical terminology have Greek roots. It just means I’m going to have to work harder.

To reward myself for passing, and to keep myself busy while worrying over Bandit, I wove a couple of triangles on the triangle loom. One I did in acrylic yarn, the other two in cotton. I like the open, lacy look of the cotton ones better, but the crochet hook doesn’t have a deep enough hook to catch the cotton yarn well, so the yarn is constantly getting split as I pull it through and I have to back up and try again, which didn’t happen with the acrylic for some reason, and that’s odd, as the cotton is the same weight as sock yarn, and the acrylic is a thicker worsted weight.

I haven’t decided what I’ll do with the triangle loom yet as far as projects go. The triangles I made were more in the line of experimentation than the start of any particular project, to see what they’d look like when finished. Now that I know, I’ll have a picture in my head for any plans.

Aneira asked me for knitting lessons a couple of weeks ago, which came as a surprise, so when we went to a meetup at a yarn store I’d never been to, Holly’s House, I bought her some Addi Turbo needles and let her get some yarn. The needles are good ones, but inexpensive. My reasoning was that they would likely become my needles in short order, and it’s looking like I may have been right. Aneira spent about an hour trying to knit the other night before deciding it was “too hard”. I remember learning to knit from my own mother at about the same age. In my case, it wasn’t too hard, it was too slow. I knew how, and I could do it, I just didn’t want to. Aneira, though, is another story. She doesn’t like to have to work at anything, on top of a fairly short attention span. After an hour of knitting, she decided to do friendship bracelets instead. Within twenty minutes of starting that project, braiding was too hard also. She did eventually finish one bracelet, but I haven’t heard a murmur about the other four she promised her friends she would make. I have a feeling that a lesson in keeping one’s promises is soon to be forthcoming, and I’m going to have to press her into doing the other four. We’ve already had a discussion about the fact that she shouldn’t have promised to make bracelets for her friends if she wasn’t already certain she could.

Well, my homework is done, I’ve put the girls to bed, taken Bandit out to do her chores and put her to bed as well, so now it’s time to spend an hour with the hubby before we have to hit the hay also. See you soon, hopefully without any more disasters!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

