Leave a comment

First quarter down!

My fingerless mitts!

My fingerless mitts!

Hmm. That title sounds an awful lot like a football term, so I would like to go on record as stating that nobody in my house follows the sport. I used to watch the Super Bowl for the commercials, but now I just catch those on YouTube. I am not a football fan, and after the whole thing with Michael Vick, when I discovered how many felons are playing for the NFL, well, that was the complete end for me. I don’t like the message that sends to our sports-hero-worshipping children.

It’s been awhile. First quarter ended on Friday, which meant that a good portion of us went to a bar on Friday night to both celebrate and drown our sorrows. Grades will hopefully be out by the end of this week, but I’ve already confirmed that I failed introduction to veterinary technology, and will have to take it again. I was at a middle-to-high C after midterms, but my biology grade was significantly lower, so I focused all of my attention on biology, idiotically thinking that I would be okay in intro. Obviously, I was wrong, and I knew it the second I laid eyes on the final.

I’m pretty sure I did all right in English. It’s a subject that I’ve always been good at, unlike the sciences and the maths. So I’m waiting nervously to see grades and crossing my fingers that I did well enough to keep my financial aid!

I haven’t been entirely fiberless during this traumatic period; I had to keep my sanity somehow! So there is nearly a full bobbin of Sibe fur spun up on Anansi, and as Thor is due for another grooming and another bath, I can probably rest assured that there will be plenty more undercoat forthcoming for me to card and spin. I also have a friend who dearly loves the color orange, and I have two cones of really neon orange acrylic, so I’ve started a Tunisian crochet scarf for her. I’ll never use those yarns otherwise; orange isn’t my favorite color! The girls and I each got a pair of cute fingerless mitts that took me a couple of hours each to make on a knitting loom, and hubby wanted a set too, only he wanted his to be long enough to act as sleeves. I only managed to finish one of those so far, and haven’t even started the second one yet. The yarn I’m using for them is really thick and really hard to work with.

I also finished…sorta…the sock that was on the loom. I say sort of because if you look at it from a distance, it’s definitely a decent sock, but up close you can see all the errors I made, and there were a lot! Still, I learned a lot and the next pair will be better, maybe even (gasp!) wearable!

I spent most of last night and today organizing the studio, since this is also my study space and it needed it. I think it’s as organized as it’s ever going to get, so I finally took some pictures of it. I’ve seen fancier ones that I drool over, but this one is mine!

DSC00232

DSC00233

DSC00237

DSC00238

DSC00239

DSC00240

DSC00241

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

