Leave a comment

Martha Stewart Crafts Knit and Weave kit

I saw this on Ravelry the other day, and had to have one, and when it came up on Amazon for less than half the price I’ve seen charged for it elsewhere, well, what’s a girl to do?

I haven’t used it yet, as there are still many, many unfinished projects on other looms, and we are well into the holiday season, so I can’t fully review it yet, but there are a few things I can say about it right now.

One of the things I like about it is the modular setup of the loom. There are dozens of combinations you can make from the included pieces in the set, and if you bought a second kit, just imagine what you could do! Want to make a big blanket without seaming? Just put the parts together and get started!

The pegs themselves are what hold the loom pieces together, and they do a good job of it. I also like the fact that the pegs are interchangeable. If you want to use a chunkier yarn, remove the small gauge pegs and install the larger gauge. Simple. It’s definitely an ingenious idea, and if it knits as well as my knitting boards do, I’ll be well-pleased.

I’ve seen several people who have complained about the pegs, and they seem to be split rather equally down the middle: some state that the pegs don’t seat well and are loose, the rest are at the exact opposite of the spectrum, complaining that the pegs won’t come out. Thus far, all of my pegs have seated quite well, with the exception of a few that had to be pressed into place with a flat object to save my hands.

The kit is also for weaving. I very much doubt I will use it for that, as I’m not exactly lacking in weaving looms, but it’s good to have the ability in case Aneira would like to try it at some point. All in all, I’m pleased with it so far; I hope I continue to be pleased with it once I start using it!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

