Leave a comment

School time!

After nineteen attempts, this is the only one that was semi-successful!

I know I haven’t done much in the way of posting lately. Life has a way of becoming very busy very quickly!

Since the weaving class was cancelled, I enrolled in a stained glass course to replace it, as well as the jewelry making course. I am compelled to admit that I am enjoying the few hours a week that I am away from screaming children and barking dogs. The classes themselves, well…

I love the stained glass course. It isn’t something that I’m likely to continue on my own, but I do like it. There is too much carpet in my house to consider glasswork here, not to mention a toddler who is into absolutely everything, fearless, and adventurous. Glass and toddler = trip to emergency room. Not a good combination. So that’s a school thing, period.

The teacher is a very concise person. She gives you the information you need and no more than that. She’s encouraging and she’s helpful. She had us cutting glass on the very first day. It’s fun, once you get past the terror of breaking glass on purpose!

The jewelry class I’m reserving judgment on.  The information the teacher gives us there is unquestionably necessary, but she’s rather dry. She also has a very quiet voice, and when the more advanced students start using tools and machinery, it’s very hard to hear the lectures. And there is actually a lot more lecture than doing, it seems, but now we’re working on our first projects.While I’m looking forward to the end result, I can’t say the course is very much fun to me, and I expected to enjoy the jewelry class more than the stained glass. Oddly enough, things are exactly the opposite.

I’m still really upset about the weaving class being cancelled. The class description had said it was going to focus on building a loom, and I was really looking forward to that, especially as hubby and I are talking about the idea of his building inkle, triangle, and peg looms. He loves woodwork, and he’s very good at it.

Our roommate has gone back to New York. Let’s just say that a twenty-year-old friendship has died, and her leave-taking was not voluntary. None of us adjusted well to the new way of life, and the stress level has gone down considerably since we are down to just our family in the house again. I am glossing over the entire ordeal, as I don’t really want to get into much detail or be very negative. Suffice it to say, the situation was very ugly in the end.

On the fiber side, I haven’t done much there either since school started, but I did manage to make a very pretty, flat Kumihimo braid, and an attempt at Scandinavian sprang. I can’t say that it came out perfectly, and it took me nineteen tries to come up with an imperfect result. One imperfect result. But it was fun to try. I don’t know if it’s a technique I’ll continue with, but it was interesting. I’ve also tried

16 strand flat Kumihimo braid

naalbinding and been fairly unsuccessful there!

I still haven’t named my marudai or my second Cricket loom. As a matter of fact, I haven’t named my card weaving surfboard either. Very remiss of me. On the other hand, no names have really jumped out at me to use yet. Maybe Jiminy for the Cricket? Lol.

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

