Leave a comment

I think I can, I think I can…

Aneira's birdhouse

It looks as though I’ll be doing a lot more weaving for the foreseeable future. For one thing, I love it. For another, if my hands are busy, I’m not smoking. It’s the only way I can do this.

This is day 2 of not smoking. I consciously chose not to buy a pack of cigarettes yesterday, despite the fact that no less than three stores across the street sell cigarettes, and at decent prices too. And it’s so hard not to just trot over and lay my money down for a fix. Quitting was easy when I was pregnant. I wasn’t doing it for me. I was doing it for my kids. In all honesty, I’m still doing it for my kids. I don’t smoke around them anyway, but they do need a mother, so I’m going to give this a good try. I don’t know how well I’ll do, but I owe it to myself and my kids to at least try. I keep thinking like the little train in the storybooks: I think I can do this.

I hope my yarn supply holds out.

River is on her third warp since my last post. There was one already on her that I finished off as a practice piece. Then I warped her with some black cotton for another practice sampler. It was only about three yards, so I was done with that in no time. Now she’s warped with about six yards of acrylic worsted. Not my favorite yarn, but perfect for just fooling around. I’ve done a lot of that with The Weaver’s Idea Book this past weekend. I played with leno, Brook’s Bouquet, Danish Medallions, and Spanish Lace. I’m not very happy with the way the Spanish Lace looks, but everything else went well. The leno was fun to do. Actually, it all was, and I need more practice with different weaves. It was also nice to work on River again. Of all my looms, she is the lightest, even more so than my peg looms.And like I said, this all keeps me from smoking!

Speaking of peg looms, I’ve just been told that my third one is finished and should be shipping soon! This one has nylon pegs, and has been painted with my favorite colors, so I’m really looking forward to seeing it!

Aneira took on a little project of her own in the form of a birdhouse she had begged me for the last time we went to JoAnn’s. She used her crayons on it this weekend, and drew her own version of a Siberian Husky on it. When she gets home

Various weaves from the Weaver's Idea Book

from school, we’ll hang it, probably on the maple in front of my studio window. With any luck, we’ll soon have a family of birds living in it. She thoroughly enjoyed coloring it. I would rather have had her paint it, but I have no idea where our watercolor paints went. I’ll have to resupply on stuff like that when I go grocery shopping. I really need to do more projects with the girls. Aneira’s old enough not to make a huge mess, and Bryony might be able to handle some less messy arts and crafts projects, especially if they’re supervised. Hmm. I’ll have to give that some thought.

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

