Leave a comment

Busy bee

I haven’t posted in a bit because the hard drive on my laptop was in the process of giving up the ghost, so we had to have it replaced, and we’ve been fighting with the new one for a week.  Computer manufacturers, apparently, aren’t required to help you with putting your backup back on your computer, whether the stupid thing is still under warranty or not. And my new hard drive decided it doesn’t want my files from my backup. Fortunately for me, hubby was studying to be a technician, before he changed his major, and has built computers before, so he has been taking care of this for me. He’s almost done, but in the meantime, I’m posting from my iPad. That means that for right now, I can’t post any pictures. I’ll make another post later of the pictures.

I made another band on Moya, using pick-up weave throughout, and it came out beautifully. It was also about nine feet long, so I decided to cut it into panels and make a pouch out of it. That part didn’t go as well. Have I mentioned how badly I sew?

The first mistake I made was in trying to finish the edges of the panels individually, which, of course, meant that all of the panels wound up being different lengths. So I cut the finished edges off, and sewed the panels together along the selvedges. That was my second mistake. You see, the borders were each two colors. I thought I could just overlap the edge borders and sew them that way. I was thinking that the edge color would be sandwiched between color two. That would have actually worked, except the edge border was so narrow that it meant I had a very small space in which to actually sew. Have I mentioned how badly I sew? There were gaps between panels, so I sewed them again. I still wound up with one gap in the flap. It could have been much worse though, and that one hole turned out to be very convenient, as the pouch was for my weaving tools, and my threading hook is much longer than the actual pouch. So it sticks out of that hole when the flap is closed.

I’m actually very proud of this pouch. For my first try, it went far better than I expected. Have I mentioned how badly I sew? I do think it might be a good idea for me to take my sewing machine down the street to the sewing machine place, where they will give me free lessons on how to work on it.  Really, I can’t do better than free, right?

So I put a new warp on Moya with the intention of trying another pouch  once I’ve woven the band. I’ve corrected the mistakes I made with the first band (I hope), and this new one should be done in the next day or two, so we’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

