Leave a comment

River, lock-outs, and scarves

My new-to-me Cricket loom, River, arrived yesterday! I was overjoyed to see her. She’s absolutely beautiful, and I can’t wait to try her out! My husband is  threatening to wrap her up and make me wait until Christmas. I’m not about to let that happen!

The manual has very detailed instructions on how to  warp her, so I’m hoping that I can do it, and if I can, maybe it will shed some light on warping Zoe. I’ve got my fingers crossed that the warping process isn’t too different. River is a rigid heddle loom, and Zoe is a four-shaft loom, not to mention a good bit bigger than River!

I think I’ll try warping River later today, after I’ve made an attempt at the housework that needs doing. And I’ll post pictures of her later too. I wanted to do it sooner, but the kitchen was a mess this morning, as I’ve avoided it for three days.  It’s nearly done now; the dishwasher is running as I write this,  and there are pans soaking in the sink. I ran out of hot water while doing them!

It wasn’t actually a huge mess, as I’ve also avoided cooking any but the simplest things for the last couple of days as well. Hubby has been on a junk food binge since we’ve been here, because for the first time in years, the fast food places aren’t twenty miles away!

Last night we had gone out to a game store to buy his Christmas present (he wanted Batman: Arkham City), and my purse had fallen over in the backseat, leaving my spare key on the floorboard, which I didn’t notice. This is relevant because now that cold weather is here, it’s necessary to let Serenity warm up in the morning before I take Aneira to school. We live too close for bussing, and technically she could walk, but there’s a major thoroughfare to cross in order to get to school, which I’m not prepared to let her cross on her own yet, so I drive her to and from school every day. So every morning, before I wake Aneira up, I go and start the car, then lock her up and go back in while she warms up. I don’t have a remote start on her, so this means that when we’re ready to leave, I need the spare key to get in. Needless to say, I had no idea the spare was locked in the car too!

I am very, very grateful now that I had added roadside assistance to our cell phone plans! I called Verizon, and they got the locksmith out here within fifteen minutes. Ten minutes after that, we were on our way. Of course, Aneira was already late, because it took me fifteen minutes of frantic searching for the key before I thought to look in Serenity’s windows. So she was a half hour late for school. I think I’ll be making two more keys for the car, just so that there are always spares in the house!

On the other hand, Aneira’s scarf is going well, although it isn’t going to be very wide, since it’s being done on the weaving sticks. But trolling Craigslist recently netted me a ton of coned yarn for almost nothing. Most of the colors are sage, brown, and black, not brightly colored at all, but there is a cone of red, and another that is burgundy and silver, so I might make her a second scarf on River using those colors. It’ll be good practice for me.

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

