3 Comments

Of Etsy, lucets, and failed experiments

Etsy is rapidly becoming a dangerous place for me. Very dangerous. I’ve had a shop on Etsy for a couple of years for my beadwork, which is empty now, and didn’t do well in the first place. I sold one item, and it was returned within days. Discouraging, to say the least. But I kept the shop, and every so often would relist things, to no avail. Oh well.

Anyway, I bought my weaving sticks on Etsy, at a shop called Weaving Me Home. Inexpensive, fun, and the source of the failed experiment I’ll tell you about in a bit. There has been yarn, from Unfancy Fibers. And last, there is a lucet from Qbranchltd. So far. I have found myself looking at looms and spindles and marudai and lucets, as if I need any more than the tools I already own. But they’re all so pretty in their own right, it’s hard not to want to collect them. According to more than a few folks on Ravelry, I am not alone in this compulsion. Which is good to know, but there really needs to be a twelve-step program for this.

Lucets. Mine came in the mail yesterday. A medieval tool for cord-making? Of course I bought it. It’s a tiny thing!

Next to my mouse for size reference

Luceting looks easy. The instructions sound easy. And I wrestled with this thing for forty-five minutes before I finally got it going right. And what you see on there is as far as I’ve gotten so far. Once it’s going, it starts to make more sense to me, but this appears to be one of those things that I should have seen done, as opposed to looking at stills. Still, fun, nonetheless.

 
And now the failed experiment. That involves my weaving sticks. I have tons of embroidery floss sitting in a tackle box, doing nothing, and I decided to try weaving it on the sticks. It looked fabulous, very uniform, but the floss is so thin it took me over an hour to weave enough of it onto the sticks to be able to pull the warp threads through. This is where the experiment failed. Embroidery floss does not have as much give as yarn, thus, it was wound too tightly around the sticks for anyone but Schwarzenegger to pull the sticks through. I couldn’t move even one of them. So I had to cut it all off the sticks. But, I learned something,  right? So not a complete failure.
3 comments on “Of Etsy, lucets, and failed experiments

  1. lucets are a horrid thing to get your head round without a tutor, then they’re easy.

    I must say, though, that I don’t think the shape of yours is terribly practical. I think those outward sloping arms would make life very difficult, try a straight armed one and you might get on faster

    Like

  2. sounds like a good idea to me, you might find things easier with a differnet shape

    Like

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

