Leave a comment

I think I’ve got the idea now

I Googled pictures of stick weaving last night, and found more than a few! I wasn’t so much doing it wrong as not pulling it tightly enough on the sticks. So, since I was really only playing with making samples, I unraveled the emerald merino and put it back with its brethren to save for when I’m making something a bit more specific, and started over with some really soft acrylic baby yarn I had on hand. Naturally, as soon as I got things going, hubby asked me to start wrapping the Christmas presents for the kids, so we could assess what we might need to add to the pile. What this actually means is that he is going to assess, and I am going to wrap. He’s useless at wrapping gifts. He can do nearly anything else, but gift wrapping is beyond him. I felt obligated, though, since he let me skip cooking last night and go buy myself some Caribbean food. So, with my stomach absolutely ecstatic

A better sample

for the first time since I left New York, I went to wrap gifts.

Of course, as I’m doing this and wishing I was still playing with my weaving sticks, Aneira decides this is a fine time to throw an epic temper tantrum that lasts until one o’clock in the morning. And there’s an irony in the fact that she chose to do this as I’m wrapping her gifts. I don’t know why I’m not returning them to the store, other than the fact that I can’t stand the idea of breaking my daughter’s heart on Christmas day.

Finally, all the presents are wrapped and hidden under the pool table in the mancave, Aneira has finally wound down and gone to bed, and hubby and I are too wound upto go to bed now, so he goes back to Skyrim, and I go back to my sticks, which are going a lot better now. I fooled around a bit by doing ten rows woven around every stick, and then four rows where I wove around two sticks, then one, then two again, and then went back to the ten rows of every stick, just to see what it would do to the weaving. I think it’s kind of interesting. Besides, I’m just experimenting right now to see what I can do with these sticks.

 
I’m learning a whole lot about fiber arts since I started this by buying Zoe. It’s interesting, it’s fun, and it keeps my hands busy, which means I’m not smoking. I can’t ask for more than that, right?
 
I’m still waiting for the inkle loom to arrive, and the little Cricket. I’ve been waiting for the inkle all month, so I’m getting a bit anxious about that one. Okay, I’m anxious about the Cricket too. I wanted a Cricket the second I laid eyes on one. They’re adorable. Small and portable. I like anything that’s portable.  
Closeup of detail

I’m still trying to decide if I’m going to wrap the Cricket and put it under the tree for myself. It is supposed to be a Christmas present, and I could technically call it cheating if I don’t put it under the tree…

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

