10 Comments

Here we go…

I have no idea why I’m doing a blog. This is something I’ve tried before, and never kept up with, but I’m going to try to do better this time. My other blogs were very subject specific, and I think that’s why they failed: not enough subject matter. So this time, I’m going to leave it open. I figure, with children, there is always subject matter, whether it is something they’ve done that’s absolutely adorable, or they’re driving you crazy. No matter what, a parent always has something to say about the offspring.

I will say this: I will never intentionally post pictures of my children, or use their real names. People are not all sunshine and roses, unfortunately, and there are far too many predators out there. I don’t want any of them ogling my kids. My dogs, though, all have fine sets of teeth and are well able to take care of themselves in that respect, so there will undoubtedly be pictures of them every now and again. And, of course, the aforementioned crafts. Yup, there will be pictures of those too.

I’ve done beadwork on a loom for about twenty years. I’m pretty much self-taught there. A few years ago, my husband finally got me to splurge on a good loom. A really good loom. If you want a great bead loom, you have to go to http://www.beadlooms.com. Several years later, I can still contact them with problems (of which none had anything to do with workmanship), and get help. Linda is fantastic.

I name everything but my computerized gadgets, that’s one thing you’ll have to be aware of. And I name them after things I like, such as movies. Thus, my beadloom is named Saffron, after a character in the show Firefly. If you haven’t seen Firefly, go rent it, look it up on Netflix or Hulu, or buy the DVDs. You will not regret it. Actually, the only regret you’ll have is not having seen it when it was still on television. Trust me.

Anyway, as I’ve said, I’ve been beading on a loom for about twenty years, give or take. I finally branched out to off-loom beading within the last two years. It’s a little more time-consuming, but just as much fun. And in the process, I’ve discovered that I much prefer the uniformity of Miyuki Delica seed beads. I don’t have to sort through my beads as often to make sure that the piece I’m working on is smooth sailing. No more lumps and bumps in the edges. And all the colors I like are there.

I’ve found there are a lot of crafts I’m interested in trying. Some of them I’ve always wanted to learn, like weaving. Just like every other kid in the world, I had a potholder loom when I was a kid that my dad made me. Always wanted to go further with it, but didn’t have a clue how to get started. I didn’t have a clue until a couple of months ago, which is very sad when you think about it. My household is very gadget-oriented. My husband took what seem like a million classes in computers. We both have all kinds of things that have internet access. I consult the internet for every-damn-thing…and yet it never occurred to me to consult it about weaving until recently. Sad.

But I finally did consult it, and, lo and behold, I am now the proud owner of a vintage LeClerc Meco table loom that I found on Craigslist. Her name is Zoe. Yes, Firefly again. I joined Weavolution and Ravelry so I could talk to other weavers, and discovered other crafts. So in addition to Zoe and Saffron, I now have a Kumihimo braiding disk, which is fun and, so far, easy. I just bought my first drop spindle with the intention of spinning my Sibe’s fur. I ordered wool cards for the purpose of preparing said fur. I ordered an inkle loom and weaving sticks for different types of weaving. I’m looking into marudai and takadai for braiding, and just bought a lucet tonight. And I’m excited about doing all of these things and maybe getting really good at them.

You have to understand, I am a stay-at-home-mom on disability. I need things to do, other than housework. I love my kids. I love my dogs. I love my husband. I even love certain video games. But it’s so satisfying to make useful things yourself instead of buying them. To see people look at you in awe when they say “How pretty!” and you say “I made it, thank you!” How cool is that?!

So, if you happen to read my blog here, you get to go on this journey of discovery with me. If not, well, that’s okay too. Can’t blame you. Like I said, my track record with blogs isn’t great. But maybe this one will be better!

10 comments on “Here we go…

  1. I have the same problem, too many fiber obsessions, too little time! Have fun exploring!

    Like

  2. Hi, I just came accross your blog when searching for information on the LeClerc Meco loom. I have one but no instructions on how to use it. The only thing I’ve found is a diagram of the loom on the LeClerc site. Do you have other instructions?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Underdaddy

Rock On....

The Ravenwood Legacy

Looking for a tale of things Supernatural? Then you came to the right place.

brianandlily

in the dogs' world

JulietJeskeblog.com

Comedian, Writer, Not So Bitter Divorcee

Some Good Eats

Eat and don't worry about it

My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Ramblings from an obsessed knitter

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

annotated audrey art

TUCSON ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR

yoonanimous

let go or be dragged

iamthemilk

Every day I'm jugglin'.

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

Gettin' It Pegged...Loom Knitter's Clique

Whipping up love with pegs & string!

madscotwerx

MadScotWerx Blog for leather and medieval works.

Fluffy Pink Turtle's Adventures in the World

Who Knows What a Fluffy Pink Turtle Can Do Loose in the World!

inkled pink

warp, weave, be happy!

opusanglicanum

one Englishwoman's work

Randomrabbit's Blog

Exploring fiber art

