CinDWood Looms

My long oval CinDWood panel loom!

My long oval CinDWood panel loom!

Let me begin by saying, I hate knitting. I do. I own knitting needles that I have willingly picked up on my own…and have put back down again. Needle knitting is so slow to me. My mom was fabulous at it. Growing up, I rarely saw her without knitting needles somewhere in her vicinity, if not in her hands. I learned the basics from her. But it was so slow to show progress, at least in comparison to crochet,  and I was a kid and so had no attention span to speak of, unless I was reading a book. I decided I hated knitting, and down went the needles. I didn’t touch them again for years, until a few months ago.

I realized that what I felt about knitting as a child might be different from the way I would feel now, as an adult, and so I tried again. I bought some straight needles, some circulars, and some double pointed needles, and made another attempt at knitting.

It was not very different.

Don’t get me wrong: I did learn some new techniques from a friend of mine, and I even took the initiative to learn some new stitches on my own. I tried, but still…the enjoyment of knitting completely eluded me. Down went the needles again.

Then I found the sock loom. And the other AKB knitting boards. And re-discovered the Knifty Knitters I remembered playing with as a child. And CinDWood Looms. And suddenly, knitting is fun and fast.

The Ravelry loom knitting group members swear by the CinDWood looms. Everyone loved them. I had them, but hadn’t yet used them, because I really liked the fine gauge of the AKB’s. But AKB’s long afghan loom can only be used for double knitting, which is all well and good if you want a thick afghan about 38″ wide. But I wanted to make a lighter weight, wider afghan. Single knit, thank you very much. The only loom I own that can do that is CinDWood’s 36″ panel loom, which can do double knit or single, because it’s a long, narrow oval with pegs going all the way around. So it came off of its hook to finally see some use.

I wasn’t really sure I’d like the nylon pegs. I knew I wouldn’t dislike them: they had to be better than the plastic Knifty Knitters. I love my Knifty Knitters, yes, but the bright, primary colors of the looms always make me feel like I’ve taken my daughters’ toys to play with, where CinDWood’s looms are made of unfinished MDF and set with matching nylon pegs. And I do love the pegs. Awesomeness. I managed to whip through several rows quickly, without losing any stitches, without catches or snags, and the pegs are so much bigger and easier to see in some lighting situations than the AKB looms. It’s so well-constructed and light, compared to the similar AKB loom, which outweighs the CinDWood by at least a pound, if not a little more. When it falls over, which it’s done twice thanks to me, it’s like Mjollnir hitting the ground. It’s loud, and the floor vibrates from the impact.

The loom lives up to everyone’s promises, and my happy expectations. I still love my AKBs, but they serve a different purpose than my CinDWoods now do. Now that I’ve finally started using it, I’m wondering why I took so long! And though I still despise needle knitting for myself, I have been eagerly sitting down to play each evening! For me, that’s saying something!

Leave a Reply

